The 2013 Oscars Host is…

1 Oct

Seth MacFarlane!

Hmm. My initial thoughts: less than impressed. After seeing him host the season premiere of SNL, and present on the Emmy’s, I’m actually less a fan of him than I was when I saw Ted this summer. I just need to not hear the Family Guy voices so much. It’s been on the air since 1999…we get it, one dude does a lot of the voices. Can MacFarlane host the show without beating us over the head with this fact? Me thinks not, but, we will see!

What do you think about this pick? Shocked? Thrilled? Appalled? Anyone still out there?

PS: In case you didn’t notice, Oscartini is back! Thanks for kicking it off, Seth MacFarlane.

7 Responses to “The 2013 Oscars Host is…”

  1. Kara October 1, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    Oh, but how cute is he in that tux?! Plus, can’t say I am bummed to have a New Englander up on the grand stage. Agree about the voices, but Stewie’s sinisterness never gets old to me. Also think it is a good pick to draw in the “younger” crowd (of course that includes myself…)

    • Katie October 1, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

      I’ll give him cute; but still, I’ve yet to be sold. We’ll see how this plays out in February!

  2. Andrew October 1, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    Agreed. Underwhelmed. Although I do like they’re going back to hiring comedians to host. It always makes for a better show. But if they wanted the younger crowd there are a million routes they could have gone (Aziz Ansari or Jon Stewart would have been very solid choices in my opinion). I’ve given up on them ever getting someone uproariously funny, since they tried that with Whoopi Goldberg, who insulted way too many people to be invited back, but was amazing.

    • Andrew October 1, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      Also, I realize Jon Stewart hosted before, but I would still like him back.

      • Katie October 1, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

        Andrew, I’m so on board with the comedians also. No more failed actor experiments a la Anne Hathaway and James Franco. Hopefully one day they’ll surprise us with someone uproariously funny!

  3. Alyssa October 2, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    But Seth McFarlane signed a picture for you! I say he’s up to the challenge.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oscartini’s great comeback! « Oscartini - October 2, 2012

    […] great comeback! 2 Oct Since I last posted (before yesterday, that […]

Leave a Reply

