In Theater: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1

14 Dec

I know I’ve been the worst.blogger.in.the.world. There, I said it. I also know that Breaking Dawn part 1, the fourth movie in the Twilight Saga, came out roughly a month ago. Does it say something that I waited this long to put up a single word about it? Yes.

It was fine. I’ll go see the 5th and final installment when it comes out next year. 3 things that happened during my viewing are noteworthy, however.

  1. This actually happened in my showing. For you non-link clickers, someone had some kind of seizure or reaction during the final scenes of the movie. It abruptly shut off, and I, being the reasonable person that I am, thought “Hmm, that was a weird ending.” The 150 teenagers in the theater, however, did not share my reaction. As soon as the screen went dark, what can only be described as a roar went up through the crowd. I’d call it equal parts angry and heartbroken that Vampire Edward had been cut of from delivering what was likely a crucial line (I couldn’t tell, I was ready for this ish to be over). Apparently, another lux level patron (where I was obviously sitting) was having a “medical emergency” and the movie would be restarted once that situation was dealt with. It was awkward, but I was never more happy to be in the 21 plus section and away from the crying girls in the regular section. So, that was weird.
  2. There is a point in the movie where Edward, who is a 100+ year old vampire, needs to look something up. Of course, being a modern vampire-man thing, he takes to the internet. Where does he go on the internet? Why, Yahoo! of course. Wait. What? Yahoo? Who uses Yahoo? You know he would Google it. Let’s be serious. Out of all the search engines, Yahoo is rated number 3, and is losing marketshare monthly. Maybe your average person wouldn’t notice/be so offended about that, but I work at a technology company and I care.  So, that part was ridiculous and I laughed at it. Stupid Twilight.
  3. The Lux Level is still my favorite way to see a movie, especially when I see it with awesome people like my friends Anne and Annemarie and my sister-in-law to be Maggie. If you don’t see movies in the Lux Level occasionally, you are MISSING OUT.
  4. In honor of the movie, Showcase Cinemas went all out. And by all out, I mean: customer Twilight-theme drinks. I had a Team Edward and it was delish.

So, there’s my month in the making Breaking Dawn post. Not going to say it was 100% worth the wait, but that’s neither here nor there.

On the bright side: only 99 more days until The Hunger Games comes out!

2 Responses to “In Theater: The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1”

  1. Anne December 14, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    I can’t believe I am mentioned in one of your blogs. It makes me feel so special. The blog was definitely worth the wait because I made me laugh. 🙂 even though I share your feelings on how the movie was so so, I am still excited for the last one. Can’t wait to see it!

  2. Magz December 18, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    I’d like to add a 5th thing to the list (and sorry I’m so late on this): the abundance of shirt on Jacob was NOT appreciated in this moive. I know, he says he is cold, blah-blah-blah, whatever. Suck it up, T-Laut, and be the piece of eye candy you were paid to be! I mean seriously, we all know he wasn’t hired for his superior acting skills. He should be treated like Meghan Fox in every movie she has ever been in- equal amounts of speaking and clothing (i.e., very little of both).

Leave a Reply

