5 Days of Farewell: Day 5

15 Jul

OK. This is it. The day Harry Potter fans of all ages have been waiting for. If you’re really hardcore, you might have seen the movie last night, at one of the midnight or 3am showings. As of yesterday, advance ticket sales reached a new pre-opening record of more than $32 million dollars. Before the movie even opened!

I certainly contributed to that number. My tickets are purchased and I am stoked about seeing HP and the Deathly Hallows part 2. As excited as am, it’s weird to think that it’s all over.

Which brings us to the final day of 5 days of farewell to Harry Potter. We’ve had pivotal moments from movies 3, 4, 6 and 7, and today’s moment comes from the one that started it all, 2001’s Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Less than half an hour into the first movie, it’s been established that a) there’s something a little weird about young Harry, with the talking to snakes and all and b) the Dursley’s are terrible people to be raised by. Which is why things really get started when Harry finds out he’s a wizard.

This introduction to Hagrid and Harry’s true self marks the start of a well, magical, journey that lasts the next 10 years and provides 7 additional movies which bring the world of Harry Potter to life (along with the 7 wonderful books that introduced the joys of reading to a whole generation of kids!)

The Harry Potter series really resonates with audiences, and I’ll miss the excitement around the release of a new movie or new book (can’t believe it’s been just about 4 years since Deathly Hallows was released!), but I’m glad it’s come to a nice, complete, eventful end, even though I’m likely to cry tonight. Just sayin’.

Any initial thoughts from you midnight movie goers? What was your favorite movie of the series? Will you miss Harry as much as I will?

One Response to “5 Days of Farewell: Day 5”

  1. Faith July 16, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I had no idea the numbers were at $32 million, I can’t wait to see the weekened numbers.

    I love how we meet Hagrid and find out about the wizarding world in the first film! It was so perfectly done 🙂

    I went to a midnight showing! I have not fully collected my thoughts and feelings yet, and I hate picking favorites so I have no idea which is my favorite movie, let alone my favorite book. I really thought that I was not going to be affected by “post potter depression” and such, because I can always rewatch the movies and reread the books and so I’m just happy that I have them all now, right? But while I was sitting int he theater waiting for it to start it finally sunk in. This is the last one, this is it! And I started feeling like I was going to cry in the theater before the movie even started, hahaha.

Leave a Reply

