I’ll never let go…of the chance to milk some $$ from moviegoers?

19 May

As you may have seen, Paramount Pictures and 20th Century Fox announced today that 1997 Best Picture winner and 2nd highest grossing film of all time, Titanic, will be re-released in 3D next year. The release will coincide with the 100th anniversary of the sailing of Titanic (April 1oth).

According to director James Cameron (who also directed the highest grossing film of all time, Avatar), seeing the film is 3D will be an “epic” experience.

Call me jaded, but seriously? This movie, while a great one and something I will almost always watch on TBS or USA whenever it’s on, will have been first released over 14 years prior by the time the re-release comes out. And instead of the $6.50 a ticket cost in 1997 (or the nearly $40 I personally panned out, as my 14 year old self saw it 6 times in the theater), we’ll likely have to shell out $15+ to take in the Titanic experience…again. I’m especially skeptical of the nesecity of a 3D conversion, but I’ve made that known previously. I guess Fox/Paramount/Cameron needed a better reason that the 100th anniversary of the sailing/sinking to put the movie out again.

I’m not entirely convinced I’ll make it back to the theater for this, but I will grudgingly admit that this will likely reign in a whole new generation of Titanic fans. After all, it IS based on what I think is one of the most fascinating and tragic historical events to ever have happened.

Are you excited for this 3D conversion? Will you see it in theaters, even if just for old times sake or to drool over Leo as he once was? Do share!

2 Responses to “I’ll never let go…of the chance to milk some $$ from moviegoers?”

  1. cupidsbow May 19, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I found your post from the ‘Just Write’ tag, weirdly enough I have just posted about Titanic myself, and tagged it with ‘Just Write’!

    I have issues with 3D, but mostly when it is used as a substitute for good film-making. So for Titanic, which I really like, I think I might be able to get on board with a 3D version. Having said that, I’m not sure that I’ll be spending the money to go and see it! James Cameron is rich enough!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Titanic Experience - May 19, 2011

    […] I'll never let go…of the chance to milk some $$ from moviegoers … And instead of the $6.50 a ticket cost in or the nearly $40 I personally panned out, as my 14 year old self saw it 6 times in the theater), we'll likely have to shell out $15+ to take in the Titanic experience…again. […]

Leave a Reply

