An Ode to Netflix

16 Mar

If that VH1 show “Best Week Ever” was still on, I’d nominate Netflix. It is #winning in a BIG way. Now, I’ve previously mentioned my affinity for Netflix, but seriously: it makes me so happy.

Just today it was announced that Netflix is making a foray into airing original programing, making it an even bigger threat to the networks and premium cable providers (like my also beloved HBO). A survey from Goldman Sachs (hello, reputable?) this week also found that more people prefer Netflix to YouTube. Granted,  the two are generally used for different purposes (long stream vs. short stream), but still-YouTube is a video giant. For Netflix to dominate consumer mindshare is HUGE for them.

I watch movies and tv shows through Netflix all the time. The main reason for my adoption is the many options and various levels of convenience I have with the service. For example, right now I have: the second disc of the sixth season of the show Weeds, 35 movies saved in my instant stream queue and another 18 movies saved in my DVD queue. That’s many hours of entertainment. BUT WAIT…must I watch all these movies from my laptop? NO SIR, I do not. Thanks to my handy dandy Nintendo WII, I’m able to stream all my instantly available movies right to my awesome TV. And stream I’ve done, with over 30 movies and several seasons of shows in my instant stream history.

Though everything isn’t perfect in Netflix world (I do wish there was a way I could pay extra to rent new releases through the service and I hope the instant streaming selection continues to improve), I’m a huge fan of this service, and have really come to rely on it for my movie-watching needs.

Are you a Netflix convert like me? Or are you more of an On-Demand/Hulu/RedBox/Library rental type? Or, if you’re more of a in-theater person, you might be interested in this Groupon, for a $6 ticket to see The Lincoln Lawyer, with Matthew McConaughey. How do you watch most of your movies these days? Leave your favorites in the comments!

Leave your favorite

2 Responses to “An Ode to Netflix”

  1. Kimberly March 17, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    I’m a recent Netflix convert too! I love the whole queue thing (but I’m a bit of a list nerd) because it lets me keep track of the millions of movies I want to see, but not bad enough to put to the top of my queue 🙂

  2. Shannon March 17, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    I really love your site! If I could make one suggestion, to make it even MORE awesome I would say: video reviews! Vlogging!! Maybe even guest vloggers?!

    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

