Why the Academy Awards were a Dud

3 Mar

Dud.Dud.Dud.

Yep, this year’s award show is gaining popular consenus on one thing: it kind of sucked.

From The Carpetbagger:

“One of the worst Oscar telecasts in history.”

“Dead. In. The. Water.”

“James Franco played a guy who cut off his own arm. Why couldn’t he play a guy who likes Anne Hathaway?”

Viewers were disappointed (ratings were down from last year), and despite its hype as a young show hosted by young stars, it seems old and fuddy-duddyesque.

But what happened? Why did a show that seemed to have so much promise sink? Here are a few of the reasons I think this was a suckfest!

  • It wasn’t funny

If the best that the writers of the onstage material could do was throw Kirk Douglas out there to add some humor to the show, you know there’s a larger overall problem here. From the lack of any kind of actual monologue to presenters that just kind of came out, gave their award, and peaced, I thought the show as a whole was seriously unfunny.

Exception: despite many critics and fans calling the opening segment tired, I liked seeing Franco and Hathaway appearing in some of this year’s nominees. I also enjoyed the autotune the movies video.

Exception to the exception: What the heck was up with the segment ending with a Back to the Future shoutout? SO random!

  • There were many a missed opportunity

When Anne Hathaway started her not-so-thinly veiled version of “On My Own” directed at former Oscar host Hugh Jackman, tell me, was I the ONLY ONE that thought the viewing audience would be treated to a fantastical duet? I hope not, because that would’ve been awesome. And then to follow that non-starter with James Franco coming out in drag for no reason except “you got to wear a tux, so I’m wearing this dress,” I just thought there were missed opportunities to bring the funny back (see number 1).

  • There was an awkward flow to the show

Now, this isn’t anything that I feel was specific to this show, but I just thought that the whole paying homage to Hollywood in year’s gone by was a little bit confusing. It felt somewhat out of place to randomly mention movies and briefly show them on the big screen, and then transition into the awards that maybe that movie had won before, or maybe not. I wasn’t a fan of that.

  • There were no surprises in any of the awards

No upsets, no real surprises, nothing unexpected; as far as OMG moments, this show was unfortunately lacking. Despite Melissa Leo dropping the Oscars first f-bomb in its history, the Oscars were, well, boring. This aspect could’ve been offset if there had been stronger hosts…which takes me to:

  • Bring back the comedians/actors who can actually host!

No offense to Anne and James BUT…they just didn’t cut it. They’ve both shown that they have the capability to be funny actors, but this wasn’t an acting job (thought at times you couldn’t exactly be sure of that…was Anne “acting” super peppy and Franco “acting” aloof and uninterested?, or…not) and they both came across as not exactly what you expected or particularly wanted in hosts.

Hopefully, next year’s Oscar telecast can bring the viewers back, by spicing it up and bringing back the funny.

Do you think you’ll tune in next year? Who do you think should be asked to host the 2012 show? Leave your thoughts in the comments!

12 Responses to “Why the Academy Awards were a Dud”

  1. Andrew March 3, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    No doubt in my mind. Stephen Colbert and/or Steve Carell would be the best options for hosts out there. I just think the Academy organizers don’t have the guts to give hosting gigs to people that will probably lambast them the whole night (see Whoopi Goldberg, who was absolutely hilarious, but never was invited back)

    • Katie March 5, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      I totally agree AW, I remember you mentioned Zach Galifianakis as a potentially awesome host. How fantastic would HE be? Throw a few ferns on stage, and you have an awesome show =)

  2. Lindsay March 3, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    I think Robert Downey Jr. would be a good choice. Love his witty remarks. However, to your point above, he’s not a comedian – just a funny actor. Maybe Tina Fey? She’s kind of the best of both worlds.

    • Katie March 5, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      I love me some RDJ Lindsay, he’s always a wild card but is so funny, that I think he’d do a great job. He’s also a comedic actor, something James Franco and Anne Hathaway aren’t typically known for. I also think Tina Fey would be awesome!

  3. Kimberly March 3, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    The reason I never watch the Oscars is because I think that they are just not funny. A comedian would be a way better host. Maybe then I would watch!

  4. Ariel K Sasso March 3, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    So sad that your blog’s namesake was a dud this year! I wanted to like James and Anne, but they both seemed so uncomfortable and awkward. You know who seemed calm and collected, and would make a fantastic host – Justin Timberlake! JT is smart, funny, poised, and quite a showman. Perfection.

  5. Matt March 3, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Wow, that was really the first F bomb in its history? With the amount of insanity living in Hollywood I would have thought she would have been beaten by several decades of cursing.

    • Katie March 5, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

      I was surprised too Matt! I guess Three 6 Mafia had some serious bleeps during their acceptance speech for best song in 2006, but apparently they kept the f bombs under wraps.

  6. justine March 7, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    Totally agree with everything you saud… the referencing old movies was wicked confusing! The only exciting thing was going to see what anne hathaway was going to wear next! Bring back billy crystal!!!!!

  7. chaugh March 9, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I agree – the whole show fell flat. And honestly, it didn’t start with the monologue. It started with the weird Good Morning America red carpet special. I’m sorry but that was awkward. I love the Oscars, and it makes me sad when it has a year that especially sucks. Here’s hoping next year will pull an Emeril and take it up a notch…BAM!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Characters Welcome: 5 Adapted Favorites « Oscartini - March 10, 2011

    […] (that is, characters that first appeared as characters in the film I cited.) Now that I’m over the Oscars, it’s time for the long-delayed second post that gives my top 5 adapted characters. These peeps […]

  2. Your 84th Annual Academy Awards will be hosted by… « Oscartini - September 7, 2011

    […] clear the Academy felt pressure to name a stellar host for February’s show, after this year’s experiment with Anne Hathaway and James Franco. They could have gone with someone a little bit more relevant (Stephen Colbert or perhaps  Zach […]

Leave a Reply

