And the Nominees Are…

14 Dec

This has been a big week in movie award news! With the AFI releasing its top 10 movies of the year on Sunday and the Critic Choice Award nominations coming out yesterday, plus the announcements from the Boston, New York and Los Angeles film critics of their picks of the year (all which named The Social Network best picture), the road to the Oscars is becoming shorter and shorter—only 6 weeks until nominees are announced!

Today, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association announced the nominees for the Golden Globes, which honor outstanding achievement in film and television.  The Globes are unique, in that they break down the categories into drama and comedy or musical. So there is no singular best picture of the year, but one is chosen in each category. Typically, the dramatic picture is the more coveted award.

Each best picture category has 5 nominees. This year’s are as follows:

DRAMA:

  • BLACK SWAN
  • THE FIGHTER
  • INCEPTION
  • THE KING’S SPEECH
  • THE SOCIAL NETWORK

COMEDY or MUSICAL:

  • ALICE IN WONDERLAND
  • BURLESQUE
  • THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT
  • RED
  • THE TOURIST

You can see the full list of nominees here. Some initial thoughts:

  • Where the heck is Toy Story 3? Sure, it’s nominated for best animated feature, but I’m surprised it didn’t at least crack the overall award. Expect Toy Story 3 to get an Oscar nod come January 25th.
  • I think the 5 drama nominees are ALL shoe-ins for Oscar noms; each of them has generated significant buzz, and I think most of them will also receive acting and/or directing nominations too.
  • In the comedy/musical category, there are some surprises. Though I haven’t seen Burlesque, I feel it’s likely on this list to give at least one musical a shot here. The Tourist has been getting panned by critics, so this is another head scratcher.
  • When it comes down to it, how are films designated comedies or dramas? While The Kids Are All Right has its funny moments, I think this film is hard to classify. If it was between seeing it in this category, or not at all, I’ll definitely take this!
  • Despite having 2 different movie categories, there’s only 1 category for best director. Each director of the best picture, drama, nominees snagged the best director noms. Veryyy interesting…

A few other surprises in the acting categories:

  • Johnny Depp is nominated for best actor in a comedy or musical for both the Tourist and Alice and Wonderland.
  • The Kids Are All Right costars Annette Bening and Julianne Moore will both vie for best actress in a comedy or musical.
  • The Fighter picking up acting award nominations for best actor (Mark Whalberg), best supporting actress (for both Amy Adams and Melissa Leo) and best supporting actor (Christian Bale, who is the front runner for the Oscar, based on buzz).

The 68th Annual Golden Globe Awards will air LIVE on Sunday, January 16, 2011 on NBC, and Ricky Gervais will be hosting.  Will you be tuning in for the show?  Who do you think the best picture awards will go to?  Leave your predictions in the comments!

39 Responses to “And the Nominees Are…”

  1. Mikalee Byerman December 14, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I think it’ll all boil down to Inception v. The Social Network — both broadly appealing, both geared toward younger gens (and a high priority audience for the Academy), both box office biggies.

    It should be interesting…

  2. auntbethany December 14, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    I would absolutely love Inception to win best drama, but it’s definitely under some heavy competition this year. I’m very happy to see so many well made movies vying for the top spot…it will only make the awards ceremonies that much more interesting. Now, I just need to see them all! Oh, Netflix?!?

  3. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife December 14, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    I have yet to see most of these movies. And I rarely agree with the choice of nominees … but what do I know? 🙂 Thanks for the update!

  4. PermanentPlasticHelmet December 14, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    I thought Black Swan was an absolute farrago; overcooked, overwrought and underthought – Fame Wide Shut. It is destined to become the next great Marmite movie; love it or hate it, like Moulin Rouge.

    I totally agree with you on the Toy Story 3 omission. Baffling!

    Nice blog.
    A

    • Andrew December 14, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      Moulin Rouge? You really think that, almost distinctively, over the top movie is analogous to Black Swan?

      I felt this movie was a terrific, multi-layered story – harping upon the underlying aspects of Swan Lake itself(internal struggle with one’s own identity), and utilizing the pursuit of perfection as an abstract desire which is especially vivid within the ballet world. Admittedly, there were a couple more cliched moments, but the acting, cinematography, direction and the dialogue made it, in my view, a really enjoyable film. Much moreso than even Inception, which I also liked.

      • PermanentPlasticHelmet December 14, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

        Hello Andrew,

        Yes, I believe Black Swan is analogous to Moulin Rouge, less in terms of form and content, and more in terms of the reaction from critics and audience alike. I can’t imagine anybody who sees Black Swan being ambivalent towards it.

        I cannot deny the film’s artistic merit and commitment from all involved (Aronofsky for his unbending intensity and resolution to a particular style, and the actors for their performances), however, as with much of Aronofsky’s work, I felt it was a case of ‘all climax and no build-up’: it started with hysteria and only escalated, leaving me numb.

        I felt the subject matter was potentially very interesting, and the film, in the hands of someone with a lighter, subtler touch and a surer grip on the cinematic representation of psychological intricacies, could have been a masterpiece.

        Oh, and read my blog too!
        http://permanentplastichelmet.com

    • stephenholtshow December 23, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

      Permanent, the Golden Globes do not DEIGN to include any animation features in their AwardsFest. Very retro, very FOREIGN, but they are the Hollywood FOREIGN press, so don’t be surprised at the number of foreigners who win in a few weeks. Except for Natalie Portman and Annette Bening and Johnny Depp, the other three acting categories will feature I think “The King’s Speech”s Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush and Helena Bonham-Carter.

  5. sannekurz December 14, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    Ha, so exciting…last year we interviewed Christian Berger the day he found out he was nominated for Best Cinematography for The White Ribbon…
    All of us stunned like startled rabbits he took it with grace – a laid back Austrian.

  6. runtobefit December 14, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    I agree…Toy Story 3 should have made it as one of the top movies of the year!!!

    http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

  7. rtcrita December 14, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    I’ve been getting excited about the Oscars for a few weeks now. I try to never miss it. When the Holiday season rolls around, I know it’s close! I also try to make it a point to see every Oscar nominated movie (for best picture) after the Oscars that I haven’t already seen.

    It’s such a great time to see this event after the hustle and bustle of the holiday season is over. You get a little time to settle back down and then have the time to anticaipate the Oscars without having to be distracted with anything else. I LOVE IT!

  8. notesfromrumbleycottage December 14, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    I did see Burlesque and while it is good, it is not great. However, Cher gets a great solo with the Dianna Warren Song that was nominated. It might win to honor Cher. All I know is that I need to get out to see a lot of movies.

  9. educlaytion December 14, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    I am out of the loop on most of these flicks. It seems these academies and I never see eye to eye. If you like movies you should check out the 12 Days of Christmas Movies tournament http://t.co/Si8dnp9
    Congrats on Fresh Pressed!

  10. eternallyemo December 14, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    “Christina Bale, who is the front runner for the Oscar, based on buzz.”

    was that a typo, or a sneaky little insult? 🙂

    • Katie December 14, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

      That was a typo, good catch! I’m actually a big Christian Bale fan, no diss intended 🙂

  11. dearexgirlfriend December 14, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    is True Grit not up for anything? is it not eligible?
    http://dearexgirlfriend.com/

    • stephenholtshow December 23, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

      They didn’t like it. Some riff between the HFPA and the Coens, evidently.

  12. Ava Aston's Muckery December 14, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Status Update: The Social Network was fantastic.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

  13. acleansurface December 14, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I haven’t been out much this year and haven’t seen a single one of those films…sad isn’t it? I did see Toy Story 3, though, because I’m a parent. (I liked it.)

  14. 4myskin December 14, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I wonder why Alice in Wonderland is in the Musical/Comedy section…I wouldn’t call it either!

  15. robstevens156 December 14, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Ultimately, the Globes have shown once again that they’re more interested in which stars turn up to the awards, but its an interesting set of choices, anyway.

  16. CrystalSpins December 14, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    I saw Burlesque and I loved it…however there is no way it was the best anything this year. It had some of the worst dialog in any movie EVER!

    That being said I’m rooting for RED for best Musical or Comedy.

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  17. me December 14, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Although the critics hated The Tourist, i actually loved it. It was a light and a fun movie – an escape from all the heavy drama movies that are coming out. Just because the critics hated it, it doesn’t mean it’s that bad. Sometimes, critics are pretty harsh thats why i don’t trust their opinions anymore. Anyway, i am rooting for the Black Swan and The Fighter. Both are beautiful and well done movies. But basing from the over hyped Avatar last year, Inception will probably swipe everything.

  18. Babygirl December 14, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Very cool post. And I love the name of your blog. Cute

  19. jule1 December 14, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    I adore Johnny Depp as an actor. Haven’t seen “The Tourist” but did see “Alice in Wonderland”. Liked but didn’t love it and feel he should not win for “Alice”. His performance was strangely disconnected, especially the accent. He is always good in bizarre roles, but he’s been much better in other roles, imo. I think he should have won for one of his Jack Sparrow turns, just for pulling off such a complex, unusual character. He makes such interesting choices as an actor.

    I’m dying to see “Burlesque”, it seems so campy and awful and I’m a big Cher fan whether she’s good or bad — she’s just fun to watch.

    “Black Swan” is intriguing and I hope to see it before the Oscars. I never see all the movies — so can’t say which one should win. Thanks for the reminder on these movies and I’m going to try to see a few more before the awards.

  20. Whitney December 14, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    I am dying to see Black Swan. It looks amazing. There are some well-deserved nominations this year for sure!

    Whitney

  21. Anna December 14, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    I’m totally seeing this or the Oscars being the Fighter’s show! Christian Bale is so going to get it.

    I can’t still be sure since I haven’t seen Black Swan but I think Fincher will get the directing.

    GREAT blog! Love it.

  22. enjoibeing December 14, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    inception should win. it has an amazing original story, great acting, great directing, what more could you ask for. christopher nolan spent 10 years writing that script.

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

    • stephenholtshow December 23, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

      But “Inception” doesn’t play well on a DVD screener, which is what they send out to most Academy members. However, the Hollywood Foreign PRESS who give out the GOlden Globes, will all probably have seen it where it should be seen in a movie theater…

      That said, I think since they are after all the FOREIGN press that they are going to go for “The King’s Speech.” It was all over the NYTimes today. Harvey W. threw a party for Eve Best and Jennifer Ehle! Wallis Simpson and Lionel Logue’s wife in “The King’s Speech.” VERY small parts, but check out the amount of ink the NYTimes devoted to it today!

  23. silvercannon December 14, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    I really liked The Social Network. Alice In Wonderland, not so much. I’d love to see Burlesque. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

  24. Sajib December 15, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    Despicable Me is the best movie I’ve watched so far in terms of animated films. It has to win. Haven’t watched Black Swan yet.

  25. Donia December 15, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    Guys, I just adore Johnny Depp, he is all men, he convince me in all characters he plays, he is my fav, I haven’t seen the tourist yet but I have high expectations.

  26. signelect December 15, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    I haven’t seen a movie at the box office in years and I don’t think I have missed anything. I can get them on line or rent for a day. The red carpet thing is way over the top.

  27. MissMichaelaBulfin December 16, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    Very nice!!!

  28. bitofabelly81 December 16, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    Inception’s got my vote!

  29. stephenholtshow December 23, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Oscartini, LURV your name! And the Golden Globs don’t give animated films ANYthing! Check out MY Oscar blog. They call me “the Oscar Messenger” Yes, they do.

  30. ulag December 29, 2010 at 5:10 am #

    Heres a review of Restrepo. Itll definitely sweep the documentary awards this year. Will face tough competition from Waiting for Superman though.

    http://haphazardcontemplations.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/movie-review-restrepo/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: A Year in Movies « Oscartini - December 15, 2010

    […] as you may have seen, yesterday’s post was Freshly Pressed (and is still on the page for the moment), which was AWESOME (thanks […]

  2. And the Golden Globe goes to… « Oscartini - January 16, 2011

    […] come and gone, with last night’s Golden Globe Awards.  I made some initial hopes/predictions in this post, and was excited to see the outcomes of some of the hotter […]

  3. Oscartini turns 1, & 3 chances to win! « Oscartini - April 25, 2011

    […] 1: number of time Oscartini has been freshly pressed […]

Leave a Reply

