The Epicness that is HP7 (part 1)

21 Nov

Finally, the movie event I’ve been waiting for has arrived, and it was everything I imagined it would be. Clearly, I wasn’t the only one waiting for this movie.  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 grossed $125.1 million dollars this past weekend in the US (and topped $330 million globally!) I also saw the movie in the best possible way: with some of my fav fellow Potterphile friends, in the Lux Level.

Me, Annemarie and Julie. Hey Harry, sorry Voldemort's STILL trying to kill you!

Personally, I LOVED this movie; but that’s not really surprising, since I’m a huge fan of the books, and have loved all the movies (not equally, but loved nonetheless). I’ve always felt that the movie supplement the books, as opposed to being able to stand on their own as separate entities. Since I don’t know how the movies play to someone who hasn’t read the books, I can only speculate, but to me, I imagine it would be very confusing, since there is SO MUCH that is left out in terms of plot, character development and background information.

Ultimately, that was my biggest gripe about this movie: the details that were cut at the expense of getting the most out of the main story. I expected this to be the case though, and still really enjoyed the movie!

Warning: Spoiler alerts (kinda?) below! Continue reading at your own risk =)

Some of the things I liked best about part 1 of HP 7 were:

  • The story moved very quickly (even during the woods); I was worried that this part would drag in the movie, since it tends to in the book, but there is literally no time for it to drag at all.  Overall, I was very please with the pace of the film.
  • The Minestry scenes: these were awesome. It felt so repressed and claustrophobic, just as I imagined it feeling in the books.
  • The cinematography and scenery are really breathtaking in this movie. For example:

From the Harry Potter Facebook page, how cool is this?

  • How the story of the Deathly Hallows were depicted: the use of animation to tell the story of the Three Brothers was genius, and was a great way to unconventionally tell a story within a story.
  • The general tone of the whole film: a lot has been made of the fact that this is the darkest (book and film) of the series. And rightfully so—this is a world at war. David Yates seemingly took this to heart, so every aspect of the movie helps you remember how dire this situation is; real danger is portrayed at every turn for Harry, Ron and Hermione.

On to what I wasn’t crazy about. My biggest compliant is the exclusion of some parts of the story I was looking forward to seeing like Harry’s goodbye to the Dursley’s, and when Harry found Lily’s letter at Grimmauld Place. I also felt like all of the background details on Dumbledore’s life (which were a really crucial component of the book) were scaled way down, to a point where it doesn’t seem to matter at all. Hopefully, some of this can be rectified in Part 2.

For reals though: see this movie. BUT, not unless you’ve read the books first, or like to drop $$ to not understand what’s going on…

Now, only 235 days to go until HP7 part 2 hits the big screen!  But who’s counting, right?

Did you see HP7P1 this weekend? What did you think?

2 Responses to “The Epicness that is HP7 (part 1)”

  1. erica December 7, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    sooooo glad i could finally read your post! I absolutely LOVED THIS MOVIE!!!! I can’t wait to see the next one, but will be very sad when i do.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Days of Farewell: Day 1 « Oscartini - July 11, 2011

    […] Even if you do call a cave or some other unsavory place home, then surely you know what movie I’m talking about if you’ve ever read Oscartini […]

Leave a Reply

