Characters Welcome: 5 Original Favorites

3 Nov

With all the movies I’ve seen recently (and am psyched to see soon!), it got me thinking about my favorite characters. I know—tough task, right? But I was able to narrow it down to 5 characters from original movies. Why only 5? Because I know if I don’t limit the list, I’ll just keep adding to it, and this will never get posted =)

So without further ado (and in no particular order!)…

  • President Thomas J. Whitmore, Independence Day

This is one of my favorite movies, and President Thomas J. Whitmore (played by Bill Pullman) is basically the perfect fictious president. He’s badass, makes the tough decisions and is pretty much the man.  Oh yeah, and he makes the BEST SPEECH OF ALL TIME. Even though it’s not real, it still gives me goosebumps. I can’t find a version with the visual, but this has the audio, which is almost as good!

  • Lucas, Empire Records

I thought this movie was awesome when I was in sixth grade, and I think it’s awesome now. Out of a great ensemble cast, I have to go with Lucas (Rory Cochrane) as my favorite. He sits on the couch and says funny things, and for that, I love him. Example:

Lucas: Joe, I think it’s gonna be okay.
Joe: What makes you think that?
Lucas: Who knows where thoughts come from? They just appear.

Priceless, love Lucas.

  • Claire, The Breakfast Club

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a big fan of the Breakfast Club. Claire (AKA Molly Ringwald), as spoiled as she is, is still a character that I think it’s easy to empathize with, and appreciate. She skipped school to go shopping and is the princess of the group, but you still cheer when she and Bender get together.

  • Chris, Adventures in Babysitting

If you haven’t seen this movie (which I hope you have), you should, and then you’d put Chris Parker on your favorite character list too. This movie is hilarious, and Elisabeth Shue plays this high school babysitter who goes out for an accidental night on the town with her charges with a mix of horror at her sitch and humor. Also, one of my favorite karaoke scenes from any movie is in this movie:

  • Edward, Pretty Woman

For reals? This Edward was the original Edward, before Twilight came along and put the name on every tweenyboppers binder. He took a chance on our favorite prostitute, punched Jason Alexandar in the face and is generally hot and amazing.

So there’s are my 5 favorite original characters. Next up: 5 favorite characters from movies, but that were developed elsewhere (TV, book, comic book).

So—what are your favorite characters from the big screen, and why? Do share!

5 Responses to “Characters Welcome: 5 Original Favorites”

  1. Nicholas November 3, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    My favorite character is Optimus Prime from Transformers. This is because he is a badass robot who can transform into a truck. Also he gives solid advice to his other robot/car followers and to Sam Witwicky on their quest to hunt and destroy the once known as Megatron whom is a real prick.

  2. Annemarie November 3, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Hi. As you well know, Miss Oscartini, Independence Day is my fav movie. And Bill Pullman has the best presidental voice ever.

    Second, I don’t think you and I have discussed Empire Records. Best. Movie. Ever. “Let’s not fight. Let’s just rip.” And Lucas makes that movie with his black turtleneck.

    Great post. Even though R. Gere is an old dude, I can appreciate his sexiness in this role. And hi. Claire? She can line her lips with no hand to spare.

    Another character to consider? David Bowie from Labyrinth. Kind of one dimensional but I heart him. Why? He reminds me of the babe. The babe with the power.

  3. Mike Puglielli November 4, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Ok. Let me say this. Independence Day is by far my favorite movie of all time. Its just an awesome, realistic alien scenario and the movie is a series of great, quotable, and outrageous one-liners. You can’t find a single conversation. Love it. HOWEVER. Greatest character, the President? My vote is in on Will Smith. Way too fun of a character that movie 🙂

    “I COULDA BEEN AT A BARBEQUE!”

    Fun post, Katie – thanks!

  4. Kimberly November 4, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    I ALWAYS cheer when Claire and Bender got together no matter how many times I watch that movie.

    One of my more recent favorite characters is Grandpa in “Little Miss Sunshine” – “Every night it’s the fucking chicken! Holy God Almighty! Is it possible just once we could get something to eat for dinner around here that’s not the goddamned fucking chicken?” LOL

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Characters Welcome: 5 Adapted Favorites « Oscartini - March 10, 2011

    […] So way back in November, I compiled my top 5 favorite original characters (that is, characters that first appeared as characters in the film I cited.) Now that I’m over the Oscars, it’s time for the long-delayed second post that gives my top 5 adapted characters. These peeps were originally elsewhere, be it a book, TV show or (gasp!) even a comic book. This set of characters is a bit more complex than the orignals; since these characters were originally created for another medium, the actor/actress that brought them to life on the big screen had more responsibility than had they portrayed an original character. […]

Leave a Reply

