She’s Hard-Hearted Hannah…

27 Oct

The vamp of Savannah GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

So, if my title is at all misleading, I just returned from a lovely 4 day trip to Savannah, Georgia.  This is my second time visiting the Peach State, and I have to tell you, it was great–lots to see, do and EAT.  There’s really something to the idea of awesome southern food, and Savannah didn’t disappoint.

Since you’re (probably) not here to read about my fabolous vacation, Savannah does have several movie connections, the most obvious one being Forrest Gump. This multiple Oscar winner (including Best Picture, Actor and Director) was partial shot in Savannah. In fact, the bench that Forrest narrated his story from was located in Chippewa Square, one of Savannah’s pristine park-like squares throughout the city!

Here’s Chippewa Square when Forrest was there…

And here it was this past weekend, when I was there!

Obviously, the major difference is the lack of bench.  According to IMDB, “Chippewa Square, the setting for the famous bench scene, does not actually have any benches on the outside of the square that faces the street, only inside the square. The bench was placed there for that scene only by the production team.”  The bench from the movie is located in a museum here in Savannah, but you get the idea even without it!

Another major film landmark was the Mercer Williams House, which was featured prominently in the movie and book, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.  Here it is:

And again:

I’ve yet to see the movie, but I just finished the book and I really liked it!

What’s your favorite real-life movie location? Anyone take a movie tour in a city?  I know Boston and NY both have things like that!

2 Responses to “She’s Hard-Hearted Hannah…”

  1. chaugh October 27, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Obviously, my favorite film location city is Austin! Most of Miss Congeniality was filmed in Austin! I’ve been to a ton of those locations including the area where the pageant finals was held (fyi: it’s Bass Concert Hall on the UT Campus)! The Life of David Gale also has some scenes on campus and most of Grindhouse was filmed in Austin! Whoa! Texas film knowledge back at ya! 😀

  2. jessica maria October 28, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I love Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil – Kevin Spacey is great, and the scenery is wonderful. I wish I’d gone to the house when I was in Savannah for an evening.

    I enjoy living in New York because of all the movie scenes surrounding me all the time! Namely, Rosemary’s Baby when I walk out of work – still creeps me out!

Leave a Reply

