In Theater: The Social Network

19 Oct

Now that  The Social Network has been dethroned (by Jackass 3D of all things) from the # 1 spot at the box office, it’s probably overdue for a discussion here on Oscartini!  Having grossed almost $80 mil worldwide since its debut, this movie is clearly resonating with viewers.  As most know, TSN  is (obviously) based on the founding of Facebook, or, the founding of Facebook as portrayed by the Ben Mezrich novel, The Accidental Billionaires.  These are totally NOT the same things. Knowing that in advance, I went in expecting to be entertained, and the movie succeeded on that front.  Keeping with the Facebook theme, I had definite Likes and Dislikes:

Likes: The acting was phenom.  So good, that the producers of the film are rumored to be mounting 3 campaigns for Best Supporting Actor, for Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake (who was awesome, but I’d still like another album out of him, please!) and Armie Hammer (who played BOTH Winklevoss twins, a feat not done so well since Lindsay Lohan in the Parent Trap).  I also thought Jesse Eisenberg’s portrayal of the Zuck was awesome—understated, but still enormously effective.  Leaving the theater, I thought “It must be hard, being smarter than everyone else around you,” which was probably intended by Aaron Sorkin and co.

The writing was also a high point for me—the dialogue was fast and furious, and really conveyed what I imagine was the raw excitement over creating something bound to be huge.  I was also a fan of the music; the soundtrack expertly reflected the action of the movie at any given time, and was pulled together by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross.

Dislikes: I thought the movie dragged to places, particularly in the transitions between the present and past.  And though I did really like the writing, I thought Mark Zuckerberg was really portrayed as a jerk, which I didn’t like since I felt his “side” was never really looked at (nor was it in the book the movie is based on).

I also wish there would have been more about the impact of Facebook, even around its founding.  But I guess this will have to be fodder for a different movie, since it wasn’t really looked at here.

So overall, I’d say I liked The Social Network for what it was: an entertaining perspective on the founding of a cultural phenomenon, complete with the drama and betrayal that makes for a good dramatic story.  As for Oscar buzz, it’s absolutely there; most critics are viewing The Social Network as a telling social commentary of today’s generation, which I agree with to the extent that it was illuminated in the film, but the consensus seems to be that The Social Network has a Best Picture nom in its future.

So, what did you think of TSN?  If you haven’t seen it, has the hype sufficiently worn you down so you will?

3 Responses to “In Theater: The Social Network”

  1. Christina October 20, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Totally agree – I loved the acting but it did drag in a few places. Overall a pretty good flick.

  2. Mike October 20, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    We’ll have to debate the merits of Jackass 3D another day. Admittedly, I’m a big fan and I actually forked over the $15 to see it (and no, I haven’t seen Avatar). Anyway…

    Being a man that grew up in the late 90s, I really enjoy Fincher’s work – starting with Se7en and really blowing up with Fight Club. Zodiac was pretty underrated if you haven’t seen it, but avoid Alien 3 at all cost.

    That being said, I’m probably going to wait until The Facebook Movie makes its way to home video. Not because of the hype, I just think I can get the same viewing experience watching this at home that I can at a theater.

  3. Kimberly October 21, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    I loved it! I left thinking the same thought as you about Mark being so much smarter than everyone else. But I definitely didn’t think he was a jerk. In fact, I kind of really really love him now 🙂

Leave a Reply

