Who’s In It…To Win It?

2 Aug

With only 156 days until Oscar nominations are announced (but hey, who’s counting?), Tom O’Neil at the L.A. Times’ Gold Derby today posted a poll: Will ‘Inception’ win the Oscar for best picture?

Tom has identified 16 possible best picture nominees, and so far, 72.8% of the voters think Inception will win the big prize. At this point, I absolutely think Inception is a lock to get one of the 10 spots on the Best Picture ballot, but I’m not 100% convinced Christopher Nolan’s blockbuster will take home the statue.

Don’t get me wrong: Inception is awesome, and I’m strongly considering a repeat viewing (though probably a matinee to bring the cost down!), and the time I’ve spent discussing the ending has been alot more than most movies I’ve seen recently but…I just don’t know. What do you think? Am I totally off? Do you have a favorite for best picture yet?

As pointed out by Dave Karger over at OscarWatch in “The 2011 Oscar Race,” the films that are most expected to get big award nominations typically come out in the last three months of the year (meaning I have a busy October, November and December ahead!)  I know I still have a lot of movies I need to see before I can make a concrete decision, but I do think something unexpected will happen this year!

Speaking of movies I need to see, I’ve added a new page, Coming Soon, where I’ll be posting movies I’m looking forward to seeing, through the end of the year. Any I should have on there that I don’t? Let me know!

3 Responses to “Who’s In It…To Win It?”

  1. erica August 3, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    So I REALLY want to see eat.prey.love. Can we go together??

    • Katie August 3, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      Yes, absolutely Erica! I’m super excited too, have you read the book?

  2. jessica maria August 4, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    I doubt Inception will win, as well. It’s only getting the most votes right now because…well, have you seen how many people have gone to see that movie? It’s #1 for three weeks in a row – some of the smaller films in that poll (The Kids Are All Right, for example) don’t have that type of popularity in the mainstream!

Leave a Reply

