Weekend Watchings: Inception, On Demand and HBO

25 Jul

This weekend was FULL of watchings! With the threat of rain hanging over the forecast, late nights on both Friday and Saturday and no real plans to speak of, this weekend was a perfect opportunity to catch up on movies and shows I’ve been meaning to see.

First up, Inception (which will be out on DVD and on demand on December 7!).  I got around to seeing this trippy thriller, which is at the top of the box office for the second week running now.  It’s been on the receiving end of A LOT of positive buzz, and I have to say, I think it’s well deserved!  I really enjoyed Inception, for a few reasons: a really intricate, detailed storyline, which we’re seeing less and less of from the studios these days; an excellent cast, including Leo (obv), Joseph Gordan-Levitt (he’s come a long way from 3rd Rock from the Sun!), Ellen Paige and Marion Cottilard; and that Inception is a new, original concept film, not a sequal or comic book or foreign remake or anything but pure imagination from Christopher Nolan. If you’ve seen Inception, you know what I mean when I say I’ve never had this kind of fantastical imagination to even come close to dreaming up something like Inception.

I think Inception has strong Oscar potential; possibly a Best Picture and Best Director nod for Nolan (likely to both honor Inception and to make up for 2008’s slight of The Dark Knight). I’d also be surprised if we didn’t see Inception in the running for several visual effects categories.

Next up, on demand watchings, or: how streaming Netflx has changed my life. Ever since we signed up for Netflix, which also includes streaming movies via our Wii, we have been on serious show back watch. Nick and I are 5 seasons into Showtimes’s Weeds, which is my new crack (no drug pun intended). We’ve averaged a season a weekend, that’s how good this show is. Next on tap for streaming is The Tudors, Lost and old seasons of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Phenom.

And finally, two awesome cable shows on tap for a Sunday night! Tonight marks the halfway point for HBO’s True Blood, one of my favorite shows. Based on Charlaine Harris’ series of Southern Vampire mysteries, True Blood is a mix of supernatural action, sex, violence and straight up fluff. I consider it a grown up Twilight, complete with vampires and werewolves!

Following True Blood is the season premier of Mad Men on AMC. This is the start of season 4 of life at a 60’s ad agency, and I am SO EXCITED FOR THIS. Last season left off on an awesome cliffhanger, and I can’t wait to see where this season goes!

Any other Mad Men fans out there? Or True Blood? Any thoughts on Inception? What was up with that ending? Mildly confusing, but still a worthy flick!

2 Responses to “Weekend Watchings: Inception, On Demand and HBO”

  1. erica July 26, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    really….you should be doing this for a living 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Short and Sweet: Eclipse and Toy Story 3 « Oscartini - August 23, 2010

    […] 5 must see summer movies I posted at the beginning of July, I’ve seen 3. Inception got its own post, but Eclipse and Toy Story slipped through the cracks. A […]

Leave a Reply

