Buh Bye Blockbuster

20 Jul

…and another one bites the dust! On my way to work the other day, I saw this:

The Blockbuster in my town is officially closing. Surprising, right? Yeah, not exactly. Where I live, there’s not one but two Blockbuster’s in the immediate vicinity.  What is mildly surprising is that both of these are still open at all.  I can’t even think of a Blockbuster in/near my hometown that is still open, but I can think of several locations that used to be home to a Blockbuster location.

Let’s face it: Blockbuster is a hot mess. With Netflix and Redbox thriving (maybe Blockbuster should change its name to Blocxbuster?), Blockbuster is on the way out. I’ve seen one of its Redbox-esque kiosks in a 7-11. One. Talk about being a day late and a dollar short.

With stores closing left and right and the recent delisting of Blockbuster on the NYSE, it’s really only a matter of time until Blockbuster declares bankruptcy and all 6,000+ stores close for good. Personally, I don’t think I’ll miss it. Though I can remember hitting a store for a new release on a Friday night back in the day, the idea of having to pay upwards of $5 for a movie when I could a) get it for a dollar from Redbox, b) get it from Netflix, through instant streaming (which has changed my life, but that’s for a different post) or in 3 days from my $9 a month unlimited plan or c) order in on demand via Comcast for the same price, without leaving my house to get and return it, is frankly ridiculous.

Sorry Blockbuster; you had a good run as the Wal-mart of video stores, but I think the end is near.

Anyone still frequent Blockbuster? Or do you only know where one used to be, since they’ve all practically closed?  What’s your preferred way of getting movies?

4 Responses to “Buh Bye Blockbuster”

  1. holly July 21, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    I’ve been pishposhing all over Blockbuster’s business model since signing up for Netflix (ohemgee, online streaming! That alone is worth $9/mo!) and seeing Redbox popping up everywhere. Our local Blockbuster has a sign in the window about how THEY get THEIR movies before Netflix and Redbox. The things is, if I am so subject to instant gratification that I can’t wait another 3 weeks for Redbox to get the movie, that’s a problem with me. After all, I’ve already waited 4 months for it to come out on video, what’s a few more weeks?

  2. Mike July 23, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    I only visit Blockbuster’s that happen to be closing – for the liquidation deals of course. Had a few good finds in the past. Christmas favorite Santa’s Slay is one title that comes to mind.

    Blockbuster never really did it for me. I honestly miss the old mom and pop video stores. The one in my town was called Bo-Lin Video and it was a quirky place – mostly because the owner only hired young women.

    However, my yearnings for the days of Bo-Lin quickly pass when I fire up streaming video direct to my television. Streaming is my new preferred method for movie/tv viewing. I’m a Netflix user and have not used a physical disc in 2010, so streaming is clearly for me!

  3. Mike July 23, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Here’s a cool article on Netflix & streaming from Newsweek. I had no idea the company has been around since 1997.

    http://www.newsweek.com/2010/07/13/netflix-the-sequel.html

    Enjoy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday Movie Musings: From the headlines « Oscartini - August 31, 2010

    […] it’s preparing for mid-September bankruptcy—from the LA Times.  As I wrote about in July, the end is near for this once thriving video rental behemoth.  According to Blockbuster, if it successfully exits […]

Leave a Reply

