Sequels, Prequels and Remakes: Are original movies dead?

16 Jun

So this past weekend, two movies duked it out for the top spot; one a remake of an 80’s movie and one a big screen adaptation of an 80’s TV show. As you might have seen, The Karate Kid beat The A-Team—by a pretty large margin too, $56 million to $26 million.

We all know that remakes have been all the rage lately, and the concept is a hard one to find fault in; unless you’re the loyal fan of the original. Take what was once a popular film idea and make it over with a bigger budget, new actors and a new audience, and it’s a surefire formula to roll that money in.Besides remakes, sequels have enjoyed a serious foothold in movies today. With the fourth installment of Shrek hanging in the top 10, along with Ironman 2 and Sex and the City 2, it seems that any movie that crosses a (insert million dollar figure here) mark, automatically gets greenlighted for a sequel…or two.

The long awaited Toy Story 3 opens this Friday…seriously, though, was anyone actually waiting on this one? What, is Andy 25 and married now? Is he still really playing with Buzz and Woody? Toy story 2 came out 11 YEARS AGO. That, in my opinion, is too long to wait before rocking the sequel.

But I digress. With sequels and remakes becoming more the norm, we haven’t seen a lot of re-releases—but we’re in for a treat come July 10th. Apparently, Grease, the sing-a-long edition is coming out in limited release this summer. WTF?!?  So apparently, this version has been seriously sanitized from the original and encourages a whole theater full of regular (read: not people I want to pay money to hear sing) people rocking out to “Summer Lovin” and “Sandra D.” Yikes city.

With so many movies now just extensions of other movies, it begs the question: are there legit no more ideas for a feature length film? Is the only avenue left to remake old movies, tack on sequel after sequel to successful movies (which are now likely to be based on a book or comic) or make some bogus pre story up and call it a prequel?

Though I don’t have a strong feeling one way or the other about the Karate Kid remake, there are some movies that I feel cannot be remade; you don’t want to mess with perfection. On the top of my list is John Hughes’ 1985 classic, The Breakfast Club. If for some unknown reason you haven’t seen the Breakfast club AND for everyone else who loves it, here’s a clip:

What movie remakes would you hate to see if done?

5 Responses to “Sequels, Prequels and Remakes: Are original movies dead?”

  1. Rick Boyer June 16, 2010 at 3:01 am #

    Hello. I was reading someone elses blog and saw you on their blogroll. Would you be interested in exchanging blog roll links? If so, feel free to email me.

    Thanks.

  2. Kimberly June 16, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    “Breakfast Club” is an all-time favorite and a remake would be total blasphemy. I was really nervous about the “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” remake, but was kind of surprised to see that I actually liked it.

  3. Mike Puglielli June 16, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Well, there are so many choices! I would have to ahead and state the obvious, I would hate for any of the Star Wars movies to be redone, especially the originals. The special edition was great enough.

    A less obvious choice would be Aliens or Back To the Future. Quite classic movies. The first was the best of these trilogies.

    P.S. I hate the predator remakes (so many bad remakes).

  4. myownchaperone June 16, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    If they ever remake the Goonies I swear I will hold an international protest. You cannot touch gold.

  5. Mike June 18, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Great post – got me to write – that’s a sign of good things 🙂

    I still think there are original stories to be told. My guess is that it’s a lot easier to greenlight proven commodities than take a chance on something new. Inception, for one, could be a good example of original content, but I agree – it seems that great stories created specifically on the screen take a back seat at the major studio level (unless you have the cache of a Christopher Nolan).

    For the most part remakes don’t bother me. The Karate Kid has me a little rattled, but it was a big hit so it’s not a huge surprise. What really bothers me is the 2011 Monster Squad remake. The remake is going to be complete garbage and here is just one reason why: the writers behind this remake are responsible for Bring It On Again. Not the original. The “Again”.

    On the Toy Story front, I’m actually looking forward to the third film. I think the 11 years helps in this case for a few reasons (I won’t bore you with all of them, I’ll just give you the biggest IMHO) it allowed Pixar to make Wall-E, The Incredibles, Finding Nemo, Up, Ratatouille and Monsters, Inc. before another Toy Story – preventing the franchise and its creators from growing stale.

    11 years seems like a long time. It’s got nothing on these sequels:

    The Wizard of Oz – 1939
    Return to Oz – 1985 (kick-ass movie btw)

    Psycho – 1960
    Psycho II – 1983

    Rambo III – 1988
    Rambo – 2008

    Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade – 1989
    Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull – 2008

    Clerks – 1994
    Clerks II – 2006 (reminds me of a kid I worked with that had no idea Clerks II was a sequel – maybe he thought it was a joke like Leonard Part Six or something)

    The Next Karate Kid – 1994
    The Karate Kid – 2010

    Excuse me…my dad just gave me a carton of cigarettes to smoke!

Leave a Reply

