In Theater: Alice in Wonderland

3 May

I admit: I’m a sucker for a novelty. Right now, that means I’m a sucker for 3D movies. I dragged my little sister to Monsters Vs. Aliens and was psyched to see Avatar in theaters, and once Alice came out, it immediately moved to the top of my to-see list. The higher price tag is slightly detrimental, but since I don’t go to the movies that much, I can justify it away.

I had gotten some on the fly reviews from friends, so I knew not to expect the classic  Disney cartoon version’s storyline, which was helpful. My first thoughts when leaving  the theater were primarily in the “that was super weird category.” But after giving it some thought, I can see it was actually really well done. Johnny Depp’s Mad Hatter was up to his usual standard of awesome (albeit at times a cross between crazy mad and angry psycho mad), and the visuals were stunning. As for the plot, it’s supposed to resemble both Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland and its sequel, Through the Looking Glass, though it changes and combines aspects of each book and straight up invents others.

This was the first 3D movie I’ve seen that I felt the technology was really well used—nothing was obtrusive or over the top, but everything was very seamless.

By combining both live action filming and animation, Tim Burton creates a new AiWL     that’s unlike one I’ve ever seen.

Is Alice Oscar worthy? Maybe, but likely for Visual effects (2009 winner: Avatar) or Makeup (2009 winner: Star Trek). I had first thought Helena Bonham Carter might warrant a best supporting actress nod, but she was her normal level of brilliant (hello, Bellatrix Lestrange!?!)

Fun facts: (courtesy of IMDB and Wikipedia)

  • Dwayne Johnson (one of my favs!) was considered for the role of The Mad Hatter.
  • Anne Hathaway’s White Queen was one of few characters that did not require digital manipulation.
  • Absolem the Caterpillar is voiced by Alan Rickman (AKA Professor Snape to those Harry Potter fans)
  • Budget: $200 million. Gross revenue (as of April 2010) $875 million
Leave a Reply

